NCAA College Basketball

NCAA Basketball March Madness 2019: Terps Win 1st Round, Bracket

COLLEGE PARK, MD — March Madness is finally here and the Maryland Terrapins narrowly won their first-round game at the big dance. The NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament began Tuesday, March 19, with the First Four and ends April 8 with the National Championship game. The University of Maryland, with a 22-10 record, was selected Sunday as a No. 6 seed to make its run for the championship game April 8 in Minneapolis.

On Thursday the Terps knocked off the No. 11 seed Belmont, 79-77. Next up for Maryland is No. 3 seed Louisiana State University; they’ll tip off at on Saturday, March 23, in VyStar Veterans Memorial Arena in Jacksonville, Florida. A game time has not been announced.

The tournament will feature some familiar faces.

Coach Mike Krzyzewski, perhaps the most recognizable college basketball coach ever, has his Duke Blue Devils poised to go deep into yet another tournament after winning the ACC Tournament. Rival North Carolina is also a No. 1 seed, along with Virginia and Gonzaga. Defending champ Villanova is a No. 6 seed this year.

You might want to figure out just what channel your cable company planted truTV. CBS Sports and Turner Sports will provide live coverage of all 67 games from the 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship across four national television networks – TBS, CBS, TNT and … truTV. All games will be streamed on NCAA March Madness Live.

But the annual tournament, which dates to 1939, is regarded as one of the most unpredictable sporting events in all of sports, with big upsets and Cinderella stories seeming to be written every year. Last year University of Maryland-Baltimore County made history when the Retrievers squashed the Virginia Cavaliers in a major upset, 74-54. To say the UMBC Retrievers were underdogs would be an understatement; no Number-16 seed had ever upset a basketball team in the top slot in an NCAA tournament.

In 2006, George Mason University became the second 11-seed in history to reach the Final Four. Just last season, the Xavier Musketeers, seeded 11th out of a possible 16 seeds, reached the Elite Eight. The South Carolina Gamecocks, seeded 7th, made it all the way to the Final Four in the same tournament.

UCLA has the most titles with 11. The University of Kentucky has the second-most with eight championships and the University of North Carolina has six.

Wait is there more to this story